Anime Review: My Hero Academia (Season 1)

With season two of My Hero Academia’s release recently I figured it was time I finally finished the first season. Immediately I was struck with a strange thought; This is one of the most under and over-hyped shows I’ve ever watched. It’s like a mainstream anime that at the same time has more of a cult-like following. It’s your run-of-the-mill shounen, but packed with more than your run-of-the-mill entertainment.

Oh yeah and

MAJOR SPOILERS AHEAD!


Izuku has dreamt of being a hero all his life—a lofty goal for anyone, but especially challenging for a kid with no superpowers. That’s right, in a world where eighty percent of the population has some kind of super-powered “quirk,” Izuku was unlucky enough to be born completely normal. But that’s not enough to stop him from enrolling in one of the world’s most prestigious hero academies. – Crunchyroll


I’m honestly not sure why I feel the need to be so critical of this show. It’s enjoyable enough, but it runs shallow with the underdog plot line. Of course you’d give the main character Izuku his own hero’s OP Quirk. But then the show turns around and gives you a nice little twist — Izuku can’t control his power and it wrecks his body. Sound familiar anybody? Overlooking that, My Hero Academia is still a fun watch. From Izuku’s training, to the first time he uses his Quirk, to the surprise battle at the end, the show knows how to get you pumped.

Plot: 3/5

Not a lot here to differentiate from any other action packed shounen. We’ve got the underdog hero with special powers, his best friend/rival, some kind of skill that sets him apart, etc etc. That said, My Hero Academia still manages to shine in an oversaturated market.

Characters: 4/5

The first season is pretty short with only 13 episodes (typical for anime I know, but seems like the kind of show that could get 26), so there isn’t a whole lot of time for character development. Izuku, All Might, and friend/rival Katsuki definitely get the most development and back story. However I buffed the score a bit because of how much I love some of the other characters. Ochako Uraraka and Tenya Iida for example are really enjoyable side characters — though their Quirks aren’t all that special. Honestly, that might be what balances their classmates so well since nearly all of them seem to have pretty amazing abilities.

Art/Music: 3/5

Really there’s just nothing all that special here. The art is pretty typical for the genre and the music, while good, is about what you’d expect as well. Characters are pretty blocky and generic looking, but occasionally get improvements based on the energy of the scene.

Enjoyment: 4/5

Maybe it’s because of how short this season is, but I never felt like the show was just dragging along. The students are interesting and the action sequences really get the adrenaline pumping. Sure the show can be dumb at times, but it’s not something you watch to really get you thinking. It’s more of a feel good kind of show that makes you hopeful. A modern day Epic of Gilgamesh or King Arthur.

I give My Hero Academia (Season 1)

3.5/5 Quirks

Ahh see what I did there? With the Half-Cold Half-Hot Quirk? I knew I’d have another half rating one of these days.

4 thoughts on “Anime Review: My Hero Academia (Season 1)

  1. I kind of felt the same about the first season of My Hero Academia. There’s nothing particularly exceptional about it, but it is just so fun to watch. I honestly hadn’t expected to enjoy it very much going in but somehow it just manages to take all the parts that seem fairly cliche and delivers something that is fairly entertaining.

      1. I’m not a big fan of tournament arcs and was kind of thinking that I wasn’t going to enjoy season 2 of this show. I should have known that My Hero would find a way to make it fun.

Leave a Reply

