Short Anime Review: Anohana

I’ve seen some great anime before. Many that were action packed and many that touched my heart. Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day however, was the first that was able to make me bawl like a baby. This show is very sweet and tells an amazing story about lost friendships and love. It has a few moments that make you cringe, but it has a base of very relatable characters that personally remind me of some of my childhood friends.

Spoilers Ahead


Jinta Yadomi and his group of childhood friends have become estranged after a tragic accident split them apart. Now in their high school years, a sudden surprise forces each of them to confront their guilt over what happened that day and come to terms with the ghosts of their past. – Crunchyroll


This eleven episode series focuses on Jinta after he assumes he’s having delusions from the summer heat of his childhood friend and crush Menma Honma. It’s later revealed that when they and their friends were younger, Menma was killed in an accident that all of the friends partially blame on themselves. Once accepting that Menma is actually appearing to him as a ghost, he decides he’s going to try and help her move onto the afterlife. However, Menma insists that Jinta must reunite the Super Peace Busters, the name of the friends’ secret hideout. This task proves to be difficult as only Jinta is able to see Menma and isn’t on the best footing with all their former friends.

I’d like to keep this review fairly spoiler-free as it’s something I really think should just be watched without preconceived notions or expectations. I will say two things about the show however that I hope will convince you to give it a watch. The ending made me cry at least 10x as much as Clannad After Story, and has some of the most powerful art and music I’ve encountered in this genre.

I give Anohana: The Flower We Saw That Day

5/5 Menmas

Haha get it? Now I bet you were thinking that I’m going to flood you with super sad gifs from the show, but you’d be wrong!

You get a puppy! Now go watch Anohana so we can talk about how sad it is together!

Leave a Reply

