Anime Review: Samurai Flamenco aka The Anime That Could’ve Been

I was actually at an anime club when I first saw Samurai Flamenco. The name turned me off to the show, but after watching the first episode I was hooked. The first six episodes were very relatable as the main character finds his path as a hero in the “regular” world. However from episode seven on, the show takes a supernatural turn with monsters, aliens, and more as the show goes on. Personally, I preferred the show when it was more realistic.


Masayoshi Hazama: a man who has become a superhero “by himself” with no superhuman powers or any sort of high-tech conversions, NONE!! Hidenori Goto: a cop who found out the true identity of “the superhero” by a strange twist of fate and thus constantly gets in trouble thanks to Hazama, the superhero. This is the story of the birth of a true hero featuring these two young men with a touch of comedy and serious drama, while they come face to face with hardships as they search for the true meaning of becoming a hero of justice in this world


Episodes 1-6 Deserve a solid 5/5
Episodes 7-22 Deserve 3/5

What’s so amazing about the beginning of this show is that it’s almost like a Japanese Batman. The show really takes a tumble after episode seven, but does manage to find some footing around episode fourteen. It takes a while, and to be honest it never revives the beauty of the first six episodes; And while I liked the ending I found it anticlimactic and lacking. Literally if they’d cut out all the supernatural episodes I would have given this show a solid 5/5. Supernatural anime are fine, but I really felt this show mislead the audience in a negative way. I would say that this show is worth watching, but that it has a very shaky plot. What started as an interesting Japanese version of Kick-Ass quickly turns into a generic version of Power Rangers. Literally…

Honestly I was so disappointed by the sudden plot change that although the rest of the story would’ve been funny on its own, I knew it wouldn’t live up to its dynamic start. Unfortunately, the letdown is so severe that I can’t even justify averaging the scores to give this show a 4/5.

With a heavy heart I give Samurai Flamenco

3/5 Fan Girls

That said, the show did have some pretty funny moments later on.

Huh.. I just realized this is my second review of a show with “Samurai” in the title.

Leave a Reply

