Anime Review: Hamatora

Been reviewing a lot of anime lately huh? Let me know if you’d like me to diversify my reviews so we can get a little more variety in here.

The first thing that drew me to Hamatora was the art design. (No pun intended for those who’ve seen the show). It wasn’t necessarily the character art that caught my attention, but the color and design of the cover and intro video. To be honest, I found the plots of each episode lacked something. Each case comes together a little too conveniently.

However, this show has two great things going for it — originality and characters. While the idea seems similar to the X-Men, Hamatora goes a different direction than most anime with their concept of Minimums.


“Minimum”— Otherwise known as “small miracles”, is a special power that only manifests within a few, select humans. Those who possess this ability are called “Minimum Holders.”Hamatora also uses unique editing techniques not often seen in entertainment with their camera cuts and transitions. It’s worth watching a few episodes to see what I mean and to determine if you enjoy the show as I have. Around episode 3, something about this show just clicked for me and I fell in love with it. – Crunchyroll Excerpt


Each of the show’s characters also have their unique, though anime-wise cliches, that make them so interesting. The anti-hero, the runner-up, the cop, the doctor, the off-the-wall joker, the food-obsessed boxer, the neko, the Beast (this time pun intended/X-Men reference), and the fan-server all have their canned roles that make them so interesting. Oh and the shop-keep. He deserves an his own episode!

Overall this is a really interesting show that breaks the mold of many mainstream anime. It’s refreshing, but also has a bit of a dark-side for any who are squeamish. (Not the kind of show for kids).

(Season Two – Re:Hamatora)

A lot of what I said for the first season hold true for the next. I loved the Bebop feel of the show, and my only real complaint is when one of the characters becomes the antagonist. I don’t want to spoil too much, but I feel like this plot device made the second season a bit of a downer. While they did explain everything well in the final episode, I feel like it was also a little too convenient and not executed very well. However I feel this show easily deserves a third season even though that’s pretty unlikely at this point. They did release a movie titled Fw:Hamatora, however it appears it only had a limited Japanese release, so I haven’t had a chance to watch it yet.

I gladly give Hamatora

5/5 Hajimes

Leave a Reply

