Andromeda, DnD and the Gwent Beta

How’s everybody doing today? It’s April Fools Day which is probably one of my least favorite holidays. Woke up this morning to quite a few jokes, but none quite so bad as this.

The weirdest thing? I kind of want one. For those who don’t know, it’s Geralt from an early scene in The Witcher 3: Wild Hunt. I think it would be hysterical and… not at all sexy…

Ahem.. But in other news I finally got to check out Mass Effect: Andromeda last night. I didn’t get a lot of hands on experience with it, but I drove around and shot some baddies for about an hour while visiting a friend. Few things I liked and a few things I didn’t about Mass Effect’s newest iteration:

Pros:

  • Has that classic Mass Effect feel to it. Game mechanics were easy to readjust to, and is still one of the smoothest third-person-shooters I’ve ever played.
  • New dialogue options are an improvement over the paragon/renegade options of the previous trilogy in my opinion.
  • This one could simply be because I haven’t played much yet, but the open world aspect seemed to get rid of the repetition I experienced in the previous trilogies where many levels seemed to follow the exact same format of landing, fighting, get what you need, fight again and exit.

Cons:

  • Some controls were not very clear off the bat, and I ended up accidentally leaving a planet after making a lot of progress — wiping it and making me start all over. My friend told me it’s happened to him before as well, but I’m fairly certain I would’ve snapped the disk after the second instance of it.
  • About halfway through playing it occurred to me that Andromeda doesn’t seem to take any of the endings of Mass Effect 3 into account. Again I don’t know the overall story that well, but I saw no mention of Reapers — either destroyed or controlled by Shepard’s conscience. Clearly there wasn’t any form of symbiosis (that green option right) which is actually the ending I chose at the end of my last playthrough.
  • They kept that motherfucking land vehicle! Admittedly it drives better than in Mass Effect or the DLC for Mass Effect 2, but WHY ARE WE STILL USING WHEELS IN THE FUTURE?!? My friend told me they tried to explain it away earlier on saying it was for stealth reasons, but even a small hovercraft would be stealthier than this six wheeled jeep thing!

Overall I can’t complain too much about this game, especially since I only got about an hour of gameplay in. I look forward to playing it more later, but there’s another game that’s been in my orbit a lot more recently. And this one is analogue.

Achievement Hunter has had a campaign of Dungeons and Dragons running for several months now called Heroes & Halfwits and it is hilarious! I’m only on episode 19, but it’s quickly become one of my favorite online shows. The series follows the path of five different individuals: Mr. Bojingles, the Tiefling Bard. Orma, the Half-Orc Barbarian. Mogar Jones, a Dragonborn Paladin. Bor Ealis, a human Paladin, and Albus Cumberbatch, a Half-Elf Warlock. Their sole mission is to liberate the kingdom of Jackalheart… something that in 19 episodes seems like the least of their worries.

As someone who’s been a long time listener of the RoosterTeeth Podcast, it’s great to finally see them play a game they used to talk about quite a bit back in their “Drunk Tank” days. And as an added bonus, they’ve got the same Dungeon Master, Frank, from those days as well. It also becomes quickly apparent why their past campaigns fell apart so quickly when you see interactions like those between Mr. Bojingles, played by Geoff Ramsey, and Bor Ealis, played by Gus Sorola.

I never thought I’d be this interested in DnD, but this show has really persuaded me to try it out. I tried a while back when I first started watching the show, but I wasn’t able to get a group together. Since then however I found out there’s a whole community of players in my town and they usually meet up every Wednesday. Think I’m going to check it out this week, but I may have to delay now that money is a little tight.

Wrapping things up today, I’ve still been playing quite a bit of the Gwent beta recently trying to get into some ranked matches. It’s funny I was streaming some Witcher 3 gameplay last night and I caught myself playing that version of Gwent almost as much as I was playing the actual game. It could be because I’m playing on the Death March difficulty, but I think it’s just because it’s a really enjoyable card game.

That actually reminds me of another April Fools joke CD Projekt RED played on us today. They released some patch notes for the Gwent beta revealing that all units now had 0 power and that all effects had been removed from cards. It was pretty funny looking through the comments finding a few people who didn’t get the joke, but even more funny were the people who went along with the joke saying things like, “Finally! A balance game!”, or, “About time, those effects were too confusing!”. Those comments really trolled those who weren’t in on the joke, but they all figured it out eventually.

And with that, I think I’m going to play a bit of the Witcher 3 and then more Gwent. Hopefully I’ll hear about a couple jobs this week and get my unemployed ass back to it. But until then I hope you all have a great weekend and not fooled too many times on this accursed holiday.

EDIT: Alright… well the award for cruelest April Fools joke officially goes to the Rick and Morty twitter account for “joking” about dropping a new episode. Jokes are supposed to be funny.. not cruel.

EDIT2: So… I was wrong. They actually are streaming Rick and Morty season 3 episode 1 RIGHT FREAKING NOW! They’re streaming it here until midnight! Wubba lubba dub dub!

Leave a Reply

