Pulp Fiction

IMDb – http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0110912/?ref_=sr_1

Director – Quentin Tarantino

Hmm the basic storyline. Well I guess you could say it’s the charming story about several characters wrapped up with the mobs who all find themselves in interesting and dangerous situations. One finds himself owing money to a mob boss, but eventually saves his life. Another character almost kills the mob boss’s wife, and is eventually killed by the man who owed the boss money. One character finds God, and some others make off with several thousand dollars from robbing a restaurant. It’s fairly hard to give an accurate plot synopsis since the movie doesn’t follow chronological order as the events take place. For example, the first scene in the movie actually takes place at the end. The second scene is somewhere in the middle, and so on and so forth.

I saw this film in my room since apparently half the people on my floor own the movie and it’s “illegal for me not to have seen it”.

I chose this film because it’s a cult classic and it was fairly easy to get ahold of.

I liked this film because of it’s “interesting dialogue”. And no, I’m not just talking about the 257 uses of the f-word. Every character had their own interesting stories and had both charming and entertaining ways of telling them. Bruce Willis’s character struck me as interesting because although it seemed he was simply out for himself, he proved to have a conscious when he went to save Ving Rhames’s character. Or Samuel L. Jackson’s character when he basically, and I do mean basically, became a born again Christian.

There weren’t a lot of things that made me dislike the film, although I wouldn’t put it in my top 10 favorites. I guess if I had to choose something, it would be the rape scene and how it seemed random and a little out of place. The movie wouldn’t have lost much if it had been scrapped. There were several ways it could have played out, but ultimately it wasn’t the worst scene in the world.

I would recommend Pulp Fiction, and I’m sure now that I’ve seen it I will be put in that situation. It’s a great film. I won’t likely watch it again for fun, but I certainly wouldn’t turn it away.

One thought on “Pulp Fiction

Leave a Reply

